Participating Organisations » National Center for Scientific Research

The National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), founded in 1939, is an interdisciplinary public research under the administrative supervision of the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research. With 33,000 people dedicated to research and 1,144 research laboratories in France and abroad, it is among the world’s leading research institutions. Its ten Institutes explore the living world, matter, the Universe, and the functioning of human societies in order to meet the major challenges of today and tomorrow. CNRS is ranked 1st in the Nature Index Ranking and 2nd in Scimago Institutions Ranking. In addition, five CNRS scientists received the Nobel prize since 2008, including Prof. Jules Hoffman (2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine), who works at the IBMC, Strasbourg.

CNRS maintains state-of the-art infrastructures in all domains of science in its 1,144 laboratories. The ARN UPR 9002 Unit is part of the Institute for Molecular and Cellular Biology (IBMC, Strasbourg) and has access to its BSL3 facility; it houses several BSL2 facilities for the culture of prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells and has all the infrastructure required for the analysis of RNA function and structure, including chemical probing.